Congratulations Drew, PhD!

May 27, 2010 at 8:48 am 6 comments

I hope you will all join me in congratulating Drew Massey as he receives his PhD in musicology from Harvard today.

While we in academia like to refer to people such as Drew as “freshly minted PhDs,” I feel that the phrase implies a “wet behind the ears” sensibility that just isn’t applicable in this case.  With a high-profile publications and numerous conference presentations, Drew has amassed too impressive a dossier for being “shiny and new.”  I don’t want this post to sound too much like a letter of recommendation, but I must say that I am immensely proud to call such an accomplished and inspiring scholar my colleague, co-blogger, and friend.  I look forward to his continued success in the future.

With this post, Amusicology graduates too:  We are now only partially a graduate-student run musicology blog.

Congratulations, Dr. Drew Massey!

Entry filed under: Drew Massey, musicologists, professional development, Thinking Out Loud. Tags: , , , .

Guest Blog by Lincoln Ballard: Review of the 2010 Pop Conference at Experience Music Project “The end of Dial ‘M’?” or “Why run a musicology blog?”

6 Comments

  • 1. Emily Richmond Pollock  |  May 27, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Yay Drew!!! 🙂

  • 2. Jake  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:05 am

    Go Dr. Drew!

  • 3. PMG  |  May 27, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Congrats Drew!

  • 4. Glenn  |  May 27, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Congrats!

  • 5. Drew Massey  |  May 28, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Ah shucks Ryan, I’m blushing *stares at feet, kicks pebble.* Thanks for all the well wishing!!!

  • 6. Evan Cortens  |  June 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I know I’m a bit late, but nevertheless, congrats Drew! Best wishes!


About

Amusicology is an online forum for musicologists, academic or otherwise. Although Ryan Raul Banagale and Drew Massey are its founders and chief contributors, we welcome guest submissions. Please let us know if you would like to contribute a guest posting. Comments are always welcome and encouraged!

Please bookmark us or add our RSS feed.

Bookmark and Share

Archives