Music Library Association Annual Meeting 2010, Day 1

March 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm 1 comment

This morning I got a late start, with a rather alarmingly large plate of corned beef hash for breakfast, followed by answering a bunch of emails re: my last conference, followed by some time at the gym, which is very nice here. After lunch, I went to a session entitled “Weaving the Web: Best Practices for Online Content,” which I mentioned in the preview post (see previous). This panel, which was chaired by Jame LeFager, featured Jeanette Casey, Carolyn Smith, Verletta Kern, and Misti Shaw as panelists.

The session was largely focused on the four institutions that the panelists represented (UW-Madison, Texas A&M, University of Washington, and DePauw University, respectively), and their solution to establishing a web presence for their music libraries. The session proceeded in an orderly fashion, with LeFager asking first about the past, then the present, and then the future of their respective solutions to distributing information to their patrons and users.  A few interesting things popped out:

1. First of all, it was refreshing to hear one of the panelists agree that the technical considerations were secondary to the political ones while integrating their web site with the many other libraries on campus. This is indeed a reminder of the uneasy institutional momentums that can prevent exciting web based work from being done in college campus (I have examples of my own, but won’t mention any names.

2. I was happy to see that Plone continues to thrive as a content management system. I had used it briefly for various blogging projects but then moved over to wordpress when it became clear that Plone was too much technology for the relatively simple things I wanted to do. Nevertheless, it is a fabulous piece of software that I hadn’t checked in on for a while.

3. Another interesting observation that two of the panelists made was the need to find a serviceable solution for mobile devices as part of their overall public facing web-presence. While I’m interested in the development of iPhone applications and Android-specific stuff, it seems that the mobile phone delivery system still presents a set of challenges to those who might benefit from it but don’t know what their users will be using – in other words a rehash of the browser wars of yesteryear. So I’ll be interested to see how libraries, as institutions which have a vested interest in open standards of accessibility, handle this brave new world.

I also have to say that I am interested by the use of twitter as a tool at these conferences, something I have been experimenting with since AMS last year. I’m not exactly sure what I’m trying to do, or what I’m seeking to learn, by checking in and posting on twitter at this things. Does it extend my eyes and ears? Do I feel like I’m hearing more than one session at a time? I’m not sure. But I’m interested.

Entry filed under: Drew Massey. Tags: .

MLA Preview 2010 Bunnies doing Arithmetic: MLA 2010 Day 2

1 Comment

  • 1. Ralph Locke  |  March 23, 2010 at 5:35 am

    Thanks for the reports on SAM and now MLA. For those of us who aren’t able to attend a meeting that potentially interests us, this is invaluable!

    There are so many different ways that music libraries can use the Internet to extend their mission and reach. Here at the Eastman School of Music, the library staff has scanned thousands of out-of-print scores and made them available to the world, password-free: https://urresearch.rochester.edu/viewInstitutionalCollection.action?collectionId=63


About

Amusicology is an online forum for musicologists, academic or otherwise. Although Ryan Raul Banagale and Drew Massey are its founders and chief contributors, we welcome guest submissions. Please let us know if you would like to contribute a guest posting. Comments are always welcome and encouraged!

Please bookmark us or add our RSS feed.

Bookmark and Share

Twitter: Amusicology in 140 Characters or Less!

Archives



