Society for American Music 2010, Day 2

March 19, 2010 at 11:59 pm 1 comment

This morning I briefly met with Elizabeth Arndt, Senior Program Officer for the NEH, who had all kinds of fabulous ideas and ideas about my research. If you haven’t met her, you should! In the process of finding her email online I found all kinds of scholars singing her praises, and after just twenty minutes I could see why.

The talented and now-Minnesota-resident Glenda Goodman gave a paper which recapitulated one of the recurrent themes this year at SAM: Transatlanticism. At amusicology here we don’t make predictions (often), but it is easy to imagine Atlantic studies gaining a major foothold in the way we think about American music(s).

Following a little jog in the hotel gym, which is nice and which I never actually make it to when I come to these conferences, I sat in on the cold war panel. Phil Gentry (Hi Phil) gave a great paper on the Age of Anxiety, and certainly rounded out my understanding of the percolation and circulation of pop-psychology in the press in the late 40s and early 50s. Jennifer Delapp-Birkett gave a really interesting talk about Copland’s FBI file, basically underscoring the fact that the government, despite all the claims of a unitary executive, is actually far flung and not a little bit bad some times at doing  the evil big brother thing. She put it better than that.

As with all SAMs there were no papers on Friday afternoon, but it was a beautiful afternoon to talk some walks and plan the future of musicology, which is precisely what I did. Following dinner Phil and I hosted – or should we say no-hosted – the Amusicology/2’23” no-host reception at the spectacularly obscurely located Armada Lounge. If anyone has photos that aren’t terribly incriminating let me know and I’ll put them up.

@mmauskapf: http://www.imu.indiana.edu/pdfs/imu/IMUStrategicPlan07.pdf, page 18; http://www.indiana.edu/~bulletin/iub/hper/2000-2002/units.html#drsdes. Sorry. I’ll be collecting in Indianapolis.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Society for American Music Annual Meeting 2010, Day 1 MLA Preview 2010

1 Comment


About

Amusicology is an online forum for musicologists, academic or otherwise. Although Ryan Raul Banagale and Drew Massey are its founders and chief contributors, we welcome guest submissions. Please let us know if you would like to contribute a guest posting. Comments are always welcome and encouraged!

Please bookmark us or add our RSS feed.

Bookmark and Share

Twitter: Amusicology in 140 Characters or Less!

Archives



