We’re #7! Whetever that means…

December 5, 2009 at 12:19 pm 5 comments

It is almost the end of the semester.  As expected, posts to musicology blogs have slowed considerably in the month since AMS due to a combination of grading and general exhaustion.  I know things around here have been rather quiet.  I’ve started a few posts, but not gotten up the focus to finish them up.  That’s why I was a bit puzzled when we received a sudden spike in traffic on amusicology this week.

Turns out we’ve been named #7 in Wikio’s “Top Blogs: Classical Music” category.  (I’ve just placed a fancy new banner in the right-hand navigation bar to prove it.)

It is not exactly clear that this ranking means anything whatsoever–I’ve actually never heard of Wikio until this morning–but it is kind of fun to see nonetheless.  According to wikio: “The position of a blog in the Wikio ranking depends on the number and weight of the incoming links from other blogs. Our algorithm accords a greater value to links from blogs placed higher up in the ranking.” So basically ones status is controlled by the company it keeps. Furthermore, their system only pulls links from RSS feeds.

I’m not sure if I would necessarily call us a “classical music” blog, but we’re not alone.  Other musicology blogs in the top 30 include:  2’23” (#12); Thoughtlights (#22); Taruskin Challenge (#23); and Musically Miscellaneous Mayhem (#27).

That there are some obvious absences (Dial “M” for Musicology, for example) makes this whole Wikio thing seem a bit wonky. Nonetheless, it I’ll be curious to see what happens with these rankings next month.  Until then, I’m going to try and link up as many musicology blogs as possible in my posts.

Though Wikio doesn’t track blogrolls, I’ve just updated ours.  Removing a few that have become inactive and adding a few that we’ve recently learned about.

Until next time…

Entry filed under: musicology. Tags: , , , .

AMS 2009 – Recap Tufts New Music Ensemble, 4 December 2009

5 Comments

  • 1. Bob  |  December 5, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I had never heard of Wikio until I got an email from them saying that my opera blog was ranked in their top 100. Like you, I had–and still have–no idea what any of this means, but the little badge of honor looks cool and I suppose it gains me some bragging rights somewhere.

  • 2. Matthias  |  December 5, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Awesome! Keep on rocking, aeh bloggin!! :-)

  • 3. Dave  |  December 5, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    I would expect nothing less from the world’s #7 Gershwin scholar. :)

  • 4. Ryan Raul Bañagale  |  December 6, 2009 at 8:42 am

    That’s Mr. #7 to you, Dave!

  • 5. Ralph Locke  |  December 10, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Among other oddities, neither of Alex Ross’s blogs (I believe)–The Rest is Noise, and Unquiet Thoughts–was on the list of the top 100. It would be good to have more information on how this list was compiled! But I’m certainly glad that some of my own favorite blogs made the cut!


About

Amusicology is an online forum for musicologists, academic or otherwise. Although Ryan Raul Banagale and Drew Massey are its founders and chief contributors, we welcome guest submissions. Please let us know if you would like to contribute a guest posting. Comments are always welcome and encouraged!

Please bookmark us or add our RSS feed.

Bookmark and Share

Twitter: Amusicology in 140 Characters or Less!

Archives



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

