AMS 2009 – Day #1

November 13, 2009 at 9:13 am 2 comments

A quick run-down of yesterday’s events before running out the door to the first session:

The day began with a very pleasant train ride from Boston to Philly–kind of strange to pass through the center of Manhattan without even seeing it.  A quick cab ride to the conference hotel and we’re off.

I always find that Thursday afternoon at AMS is a  nice “calm before the storm.”  So, I took the opportunity to sit in the lobby, catch up with old friends and colleagues, and book up my lunches and dinners for the remainder of the weekend.

As a result, I only made it to two papers: Dave Paul and John Z. McKay.  Both were well delvired and received presentations (more on particular aspects of individual papers in a later post).

The best part of the day was definately the Amusicology reception.  Thanks to all who came by!  It was really great to see everyone, especially the bloggers: 2’23”, ZeitschichtenThoughtLights, and one new one whose name escapes me in the pre-coffee phase of my day…I’ll add it when I remember it!  We’ll do it again next year for sure.

See you round the conference!

Entry filed under: conferences, live blogging, Ryan Raul Bañagale. Tags: , , .

AMS 2009 Preview AMS 2009 – Recap

2 Comments

  • 1. KG  |  November 15, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I’m sorry I couldn’t make the amusicology part on Thursday night. I was busily recovering from a 24 hour head cold.

  • 2. Ryan Raul Bañagale  |  November 18, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    No problem, KG. It was good to see you at the conferece. Rock it at SEM!!


About

Amusicology is an online forum for musicologists, academic or otherwise. Although Ryan Raul Banagale and Drew Massey are its founders and chief contributors, we welcome guest submissions. Please let us know if you would like to contribute a guest posting. Comments are always welcome and encouraged!

Please bookmark us or add our RSS feed.

Bookmark and Share

Twitter: Amusicology in 140 Characters or Less!

Archives



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

